Random, Roman Reflections

22 Jun

At 7:30 a.m. this morning, I awoke to my alarm clock. My instincts and longing desire to sleep in led me to hit the snooze button a couple times before climbing out of bed. Today was the day where we would venture to the Vatican to be part of the papal audience.

After eating breakfast and taking a shot of espresso, I was able to take on the morning. Bridget, Katie, Kelsey, Andrew and I took the bus to Ottaviano and walked about 10 minutes to the Vatican entrance. Along the way we were attacked by solicitors, advertising tours at the Vatican. I noted a funny observation today. No matter where I go with a group of people, Italians just know we’re American. I must have a giant stamp on my forehead that says “speak to me in English.” Is it the fact that we travel in larger groups like freshman traveling to a campus party? Do we dress differently? Or maybe it’s because we have some blondes in our group. Regardless, they have a 6th sense of picking us out no matter where we are.

When we got there, we took on the sweltering heat, stood on our tiptoes and held our cameras in the air, hoping we would snap a shot of the Pope riding around in his little Pope Mobile. When he came around, I saw him through the crowd, wearing a red hat, smiling and waving to his attentive and excited audience. Because of the heat, we didn’t stay long. But we listened to him talk for a while.

After leaving the Vatican, we walked around Rome browsing different stores and picking through the clothes at the markets. We took the bus back and Bridget, Katie and I walked down to OVS, which is their main department store here. All three of us bought a dress (which I probably didn’t need) and then we walked back.

Half of the group (the Italian class and Education class) went to Bologna for the next three days. Those who stayed behind are getting treated to a nice dinner tonight courtesy of Mother Xavier. Not having to buy dinner tonight makes up for my new dress, I suppose. Or at least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

That’s all for now. Ciao 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

